Reba R. Robertson Award - Drama Teachers Honor Roll

Engage Explore Empower

Reba R. Robertson Award
Recognizes EXCELLENCE in the important work of public high school theatre/drama teachers throughout the United States of America
Biennial - deadline
2024 Nomination UPDATE INFORMATION: All nominations must be submitted via e-mail and received no later than TBA for the 2024 Award.
OUTSTANDING TEACHERS - Recipients of the Robertson Award
  • Dr. Jo Beth Gonzalez, 2002 (fka Wilson Award)
  • Dr. John Newman, 2008
  • Julia Perlowski, 2010
  • Kristi Fuller, 2012
  • Holly Stanfield, 2014
  • Art Almquist, 2016
  • Adam Slee, 2018
  • John Becthold, 2020
  • Margo Hickman 2022
  • MORE about these Recipients…
WHO MAY APPLY: An individual may nominate an outstanding teacher of public secondary school theatre/drama, in the U.S.A.
The nomination must include:
1) A brief description of the relationship between the nominator and the nominee
2) Nominee’s name, email address, phone number, and name of the nominee's high school
3) A brief rationale for the nomination, with particular attention to the criteria listed in the nomination form. No self-nominations accepted.
Stacks Image 47
The Reba R. Robertson Award for an Outstanding American High School Drama Teacher is presented in memory of Reba R. Robertson, who was a public school teacher of drama, speech, and debate. Her nearly forty-year tenure at Richfield High School in Waco, Texas, was filled with teaching, directing, coaching, mentoring, producing, and administering programs that not only trained students, but also brought the impact of drama and communication into developing community outside the school and encouraging historic preservation. This award honors her memory and teachers who follow enthusiastically in her path.

Endowed by the Childrens Theatre Foundation and major gifts from the three sons of Mrs. Robertson: Mark, Stephen and Phillip, the first Robertson Award was made in 2008 with awards following every two years.
CTFA's Drama Teacher & Mentor Honor Roll donations support the Robertson Award and other CTFA events honoring teachers & mentors.

Honor your TEACHER/MENTOR with a We ❤️ Drama Teachers Listing on CTFA's HONOR ROLL Your donations will continue to support the Reba R. Robertson Award and CTFA's We ❤️ Drama Teacher recognitions.