Reba R. Robertson Award - Drama Teachers Honor Roll

Reba R. Robertson Award
Recognizes EXCELLENCE in the important work of public high school theatre/drama teachers throughout the United States of America
Biennial - deadline
Nomination. All nominations must be submitted via e-mail and received no later than November 1st 2017 for 2018 Application. (Nomination period is now closed for the 2018 application.)
OUTSTANDING TEACHERS - Recipients of the Robertson Award
  • Jo Beth Gonzalez, 2002 (fka Wilson Award)
  • John Newman, 2008
  • Julia Perlowski, 2010
  • Kristi Fuller, 2012
  • Holly Stanfield, 2014
  • Art Almquist, 2016
  • Adam Slee, 2018
  • MORE about these Recipients…
Stacks Image 2299

Drama Teachers Honor Roll

We thank you. We remember you. We are changed because of your impact as a teacher, mentor, role model, and friend.

Support the Robertson Award and honor a special Drama Teacher on
CTFA’s Drama Teachers HONOR ROLL.
The 2018 Reba R. Robertson Award Honoree:
Adam Slee of DaVinci Academy, Ogden, Utah will be honored with Childrens Theatre Foundation's 2018 Reba R. Robertson Award for Outstanding Teacher of Drama

AATE Conference Event: PRESENTATION: Thursday, August 2, 2018
The Reba R. Robertson Award will be presented during CTFA's Orlin Corey Medallion Award Event to begin at 5:50 pm, Thursday, August 2, 2018, Hyatt Regency Hotel, 1300 Nicolette Mall, Minneapolis, MN as an ALL CONFERENCE EVENT, partnering with the annual conference of the American Alliance for Theatre an Education (AATE). All registered AATE conference attendees are invited to attend.

AATE Conference Event: Thursday, August 2, 2-3:15 pm, Great Lakes Ballroom BC
AATE Session-Block 1
Spotlighting Our Mentors: How We Grow Towards Tomorrow
Join Previous CTFA Robertson Award Recipients and other Mentor-Leaders as we examine how our mentors shaped us and how we shape the next generations. Presenters: Jo Beth Gonzalez, Holly Stanfield, and Diane Carr.

AATE Conference Event: Thursday, August 2, 9 pm, Great Lakes Ballroom, BC
♥️ Drama Teachers Party! CTFA and AATE invite teachers, mentors, professors, students, and friends to a CELEBRATION OF ALL THEATRE EDUCATORS who inspire us. We will be recognizing all teachers in attendance!
Please join us for this joyfully dramatic party with dessert & cash bar.
WHO MAY APPLY: An individual may nominate an outstanding teacher of public secondary school theatre/drama, in the U.S.A.
The nomination must include:
1) A brief description of the relationship between the nominator and the nominee
2) Nominee’s name and email address
3) A brief rationale for the nomination, with particular attention to the criteria listed in
the nomination form. No self-nominations accepted
Stacks Image 88
The Reba R. Robertson Award for an Outstanding American High School Drama Teacher is presented in memory of Reba R. Robertson, who was a public school teacher of drama, speech, and debate. Her nearly forty-year tenure at Richfield High School in Waco, Texas, was filled with teaching, directing, coaching, mentoring, producing, and administering programs that not only trained students, but also brought the impact of drama and communication into developing community outside the school and encouraging historic preservation. This award honors her memory and teachers who follow enthusiastically in her path.

Endowed by the Children's Theatre Foundation and major gifts from the three sons of Mrs. Robertson: Mark, Stephen and Phillip, the first award was made in 2008 with awards following every two years.